The Forest & Stream Club transports you back to a gentler time.
The Club occupies an outstanding piece of land in Dorval and certainly the most beautiful property found along the entire shore, reaching out into the waters of Lake St. Louis. The Club is generally open for the use of members and their guests five days a week, from Tuesday to Saturday. The Club is a 20-minute drive from downtown Montreal and a 10-minute drive from Montreal-Trudeau Airport. The unique attractiveness of the Club is a blend of many factors: its stunning location, the warmth of its appointments in the various salons, and its ambiance that gently wraps itself around you... you are home.
In 1880, Frank Stephen built a cottage known as 'Mapleband' in Cartierville, and in 1884 it became the first home of the Forest & Stream Club.
It was decided that 'Mapleband' would be held in trust for the Forest & Stream. Along with the property came its contents, including the silverware engraved with the initials of Frank Stephen ('FS') most likely influencing the naming of this new country club.
The Club was formed by Frank Stephen and some of his gentlemen friends and associates on November 27, 1884 at a meeting held at the St. Lawrence Hall in Montreal.
The Club's original founders were Andrew Allan, James Bryce Allan, Hugh Montagu Allan, Louis Joseph Forget, Hartland St. Claire MacDougall, Hugh Paton, and Frank Stephen.
The Club was formed with 15 shareholders.
The by-laws and constitution were established: "The objects of the Club are for the encouragement of driving, boating, fishing, and other sports, and the maintenance of a country place for social meetings."
In 1872 Alfred Brown, then Chairman of the Grand Trunk Railway and a Director of the Bank of Montreal, purchased his waterfront lot - projecting into the waters - of Lake St. Louis, and on this remarkable site, Brown built his mansion.
Mr. Brown gave his property the name of 'Bel-Air'. The three-building estate consisted of the main residence, the carriage house, and the gatehouse.
The estate - his summer residence - was completed in 1878.
Mr. Brown also arranged to have a Grand Trunk Railway station built nearby which was named the 'Bel-Air' station, today known as Pine Beach, to facilitate his guests' access to his estate.
During the late 19th century, Bel-Air also served as the clubhouse of the Bel-Air Race Track.
He passed his estate to his heirs to be sold in 1888 to the Forest & Stream Club for $30,000.
Almost one-half of the wealth of the nation and one-third of its railways, banks and factories were owned or controlled by some fifty men.
Many of these men were members of the Forest & Stream Club.
Abbott, Allan, Angus, Dawes, Forget, Holt, Girouard, Molson, Stephen, Van Horne... are all well-known and famous names in Montreal society circles.
Since 1884, the Forest & Stream Club's mandate is to solidify its position as the only exclusive private social club located on the West Island, offering excellent social facilities in an atmosphere which combines the ambiance of old-world tradition with modern amenities required by today's discerning member. The Club ranks among the country's premier member-owned private clubs. The Club is run as a business with an eye to the bottom line while retaining the "club feeling" so cherished by its membership. A meeting place for fellowship and social activity in a traditional setting.Join